A new Tyranid add-on for Firestorm over Kaurava

Here be mod discussions

Moderator: Moderators

A new Tyranid add-on for Firestorm over Kaurava

Postby und on Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:43 pm

Greetings Tyranid mod team,

My name is Andras and I am a big fan of the Tyranid Mod. I am also an amateur coder (via corsix mod studio) and have been involved in a few modding projects, but I haven't released anything spectacular (or... anything at all for that matter).

I am also a big fan of the Firestorm over Kronus mod and I would like to see the Tyranids as an extra race option within it.

So this is what it boils down to. I would respectfully ask for the permission of the Tyranid Mod Team's to use the Tyranid mod's art assets in an add-on mod for Firestorm over Kaurava.

Now, I know there was an other attempt to bring the Tyranids into FoK, but it was discontinued. I just decided to start from scratch.

To edify, I created a new mod which requires the installation of Tyranids vers.0.5b2 and DoW40K_SS in Soulstorm. I didn't plan to copy any art file inside the root directory of the add-on, keeping the inheritance to the Tyranid Mod. I started with the convertion of the the Tyranid mod's attribute files to FoK "code", a relatively easy, but lengthy process. Later on I would modify the AI and UCS as well. Sadly, I can't finish everything by keeping all art assets inside the Tyranid mod directory. This is why I kindly ask for the permission to edit certain UI files (such as the icons and the taskbar) and add them to the add-on's directory, to fit in with the general theme and style of FoK .